Stop Big Tobacco from targeting Hawai'i keiki

Take Action: Fight Flavored Tobacco  

About the Campaign

There's a public health emergency unfolding right before our eyes — and the cause couldn't be clearer.

The tobacco companies are using flavored products to hook kids — and it's working. Flavored tobacco products, especially e-cigarettes, have addicted a new generation of kids and threaten to reverse the decades-long progress Hawai’i has made in reducing youth tobacco use. Eight out of ten kids who have used tobacco started with a flavored product.

Hawai'i can protect kids by ending the sale of all flavored tobacco products, one of the most promising ways to prevent the industry from addicting our kids.

Targeted Communities

Tobacco companies continue to aggressively market menthol-flavored cigarettes to kids, Native Hawaiians and LGBTQ+ folks, as they have for decades. Youth smokers are more likely to use menthol cigarettes than any other age group. Menthol cigarettes pose a tremendous public health threat- they make it easier to start and harder to quit.


Egregious Flavors

There are thousands of e-cigarette flavors and over 200 cigar flavors. Flavors like Mauna Dew, Mango Mania, Lilikoi, Luau Punch, POG, and Cool Mint are still readily available, clearly targeting our kids. 85% of youth e-cigarette users have report using flavored products.


A Youth Epidemic

Flavored products, especially Juul, fueled a youth e-cigarette epidemic over the last decade. Today, over 2.5 million kids nationally use e-cigarettes. In Hawai'i, 30% of high schools students have used an e-cigarette in the last 30 days. Kids are not just experimenting, but becoming addicted to these sweet, nicotine-loaded products. Many e-cigarettes can contain as much or more nicotine as a pack of 20 cigarettes.


Tobacco Money Stops Here Pledge

In Hawai'i, the tobacco companies (including e-cigarette companies) have spent nearly $350,000 since 2014 on campaign contributions to block policies that would reduce tobacco use. Their business model is simple. The more people use tobacco products, the more money they make. Spending money to influence elections and legislation serves only one purpose—to prevent policies from passing that will result in fewer people using tobacco products. They don’t care who dies from using their products, so long as they keep smoking. The tobacco industry spends nearly $24 million on marketing every year in Hawai'i to addict new customers—primarily keiki—and then spends whatever it takes to make sure no policies can pass that would reduce the number of smokers in our state.

It is estimated that 1,400 residents of Hawaii will die from smoking every year. There are 21,000 children living in Hawaii who are alive now that will die prematurely due to smoking-related disease. It is the single largest preventable cause of death. Smoking kills more people than alcohol, AIDS, car crashes, illegal drugs, murders and suicides combined. The annual health care costs in Hawaii directly caused by smoking are $526 million. Medicaid covers $141.7 million of those costs each year. The tax burden from smoking-caused government expenditure is $849 per household. Smoking-caused productivity loss in Hawaii costs an additional $387 million a year.

But the following candidates have pledged to “Quit Tobacco” by rejecting any campaign contribution from any tobacco company including, but not limited to Altria Client Services Inc. and its affiliates; Cigar Association of America; Juul Labs, Volcano E-Cigarette Company and RAI Services Company and its affiliates.

Please thank these Candidates for taking the pledge:

Helen Tupa’i, Senate District 1
Dianne Hensley, Senate District 2
Holly L Osborn, Senate District 2
Dru Mamo Kanuha, Senate District 3
Nicholas Tancheff, Senate District 4
Shaina Forsyth, Senate District 6
Angus L.K. (Mac) McKelvey, Senate District 6
Melissah Shishido (Mish), Senate District 6
Tamara Mckay, Senate District 7
Walter Ritte, Senate District 7
Kapana Thronas-Kahoonei, Senate District 8
Stanley Chang, Senate District 9
Leilani Soon, Senate District 10
True St. Thomas, Senate District 10
Carol Fukunaga, Senate District 11
Ian Ross, Senate District 11
Michelle Kwock, Senate District 13
Karl Rhoads, Senate District 13
Glenn Wakai, Senate District 15
Brandon Elefante, Senate District 16
Bennette Misalucha, Senate District 16
Karl Dicks, Senate District 17
Senator Mike Gabbard, Senate District 21
Brenton Awa, Senate District 23
Arthur Hannemann, Senate District 23
Gil Riviere, Senate District 23
Antionette Fernandez, Senate District 24
Brian Lauro, Senate District 25
Chris Lee, Senate District 25
Shannon Matson, House District 3

Brian Ley, House District 4
Jeanné Kapela, House District 5
Ilya Barannikov, House District 6
Kirstin Kahaloa, House District 6
Jonathan Kennealy, House District 6
Nicole Lowen, House District 7
Makai Freitas, House District 8
David Tarnas, House District 8
Sam Peralta, House District 9
Justin Woodson, House District 9
Terez Amato, House District 11
Netra Halperin, House District 11
Dan Johnson, House District 12
Linda Clark, House District 13
Nick Nikhilananda, House District 13
Kelly Armstrong, House District 14
Steve Yoder, House District 16
Michael Wilson, House District 17
Jessica (Priya) Caiazzo, House District 20
Joelle Seashell, House District 21
Andrew Takuya Garrett, House District 22
Jillian Anderson, House District 24
Adrian Tam, House District 24
Kim Coco Iwamoto, House District 25
Rob Novak, House District 25
Valerie C. Wang, House District 26
Gary Gill, House District 27
Margaret U. Lim, House District 27
Robert M. Armstrong, House District 28
Ernest Caravalho, House District 28

Carole Kauhiwai Kaapu, House District 29
Romy M. Cachola, House District 30
Sonny Ganaden, House District 30
Shirley Templo, House District 30
Tracy Aaron Arakaki, House District 33
Theodene Allen, House District 34
Josiah Araki, House District 35
Cory M. Chun, House District 35
Maurice T Morita, House District 36
Jamie Detwiler, House District 37
Eric Sarrafian, House District 37
Marilyn B Lee, House District 38
Jamaica Cullen, House District 39
Austin Maglinti, House District 39
Corey Rosenlee, House District 39
Michael Starr, House District 40
Daniel Wade, House District 41
Diamond Garcia, House District 42
Lori Goeas, House District 42
Anna Odom, House District 43
Jonathan Lee, House District 44
Darius K. Kila, House District 44
John E Miler, House District 46
Amy Perruso, House District 46
Scot Matayoshi, House District 49
Toni Civita Difante, House District 50
Natalia Hussey-Burdick, House District 50
Lisa Marten, House District 51

Our Partners